Skip to content

New Assistant Principal

Exciting news! Cindy Bassett will be joining the Gilbert High School family as our new assistant principal starting in the 2019-2020 school year. Cindy is currently the Dean of Students at Dallas Center-Grimes.

Read Across America Day

Gilbert Intermediate Students participated in Read Across America day on March 6, 2019.  All 350 students and 40 staff were encouraged to wear PJ’s or comfy clothes, bring a billow or blanket as the whole school read together for 30 minutes.  Theisen’s of Ames donated popcorn for the kids to enjoy while reading.  Each month, Gilbert Intermediate has a Be Your BEST assembly that is planned and led by the students!  4th grade reading council students read the Reading Pledge to kick off the assembly!


Elementary Day of Play

On Friday, February 8, the Elementary Staff and Students celebrated the Global School Play Day. Students had the opportunity to engage in many hands-on activities including Legos, puzzles, playing card games and so much more! Some students even had fun in the cafeteria building cardboard structures! Research is overwhelming that our children need to play to develop their creativity, social relationships, and problem solving skills. Elementary Principal, Staci Edwards, said “While we continue to work to infuse play into daily school activities, this day was intended to be a celebration of children and play. There has been so much positive feedback on the event from staff, parents, and students that our goal is to make this an annual event”.

Kindergarten teacher, Angie Bonthuis, submitted a blog post about the Day of Play to Dr. Jean’s website sharing her own experiences of this fun event! To view her post, click here.


IMG_1823 IMG_1816 IMG_1824 IMG_1813 IMG_1821




1 2 3 4